My current understanding about Learning and Educational Technology

Portfolio assignment 1: Learning and educational technology

My current understanding about learning and educational technology basis much on

  • My studies: few courses of basic studies at Oulu University last year by Doctor Laru 
  • On my personal relationship and experience with technology and of course
  • My own interest on this branch of learning science
  • I have to mention my dad and childhood in Oulu.

What else? Can I see the box from the box?

Technology has never had a bigger role in my life. I have become more familiar with technology after last two years when I started my first courses in University. In those years my knowledge to use technology as a part of my everyday life in my studies has changed enormously. I have learned so much that it’s actually really hard to understand. But when we talk about

Learning and educational technology = LET

we concentrate the focus to WHY to use it? We don‘t think about how to use it. As I started to think right away. I have my motivation in this LET studies in the future working life. I think LET questions are quite hot topics right now. But I also think that in the future technology will have its place in everyday life, everyday learning situation and in every working places. Global world today affects to every field of life. Use of technology comes to every areas of life. I think that technology will only get larger, bigger and that people will use technology much more and much richer way in the future.That is one part of my motivation in this field.

Understanding about this subject has many sides.

  • Technical side. I mean using, skills and experience with technological apparatus and software.
  • Emotional side. What’s my relationship with LET and previous knowledge
  • Learning side. How do I understand learning, and learning with technology.
  • Education side: Why, What, Where?What and how do people learn with the help of technology. What gets better and what weakens?
  • Science side: What are the key words, key methods, why those, what is really researched, what theories are used.
  • Future side. How will technology develop? How will it affect on people’s life? Why do I need studies on this field?

Would you add a side on this list?

These pictures represent study groups thoughts of LET. Key words on this question were listed by student groups during the lesson. Very much the same kind of structure that I have.
20130916-232635.jpg

Pictures taken from our study confluence.

One thing about understanding is the fact that it’s all the time chancing. Probably I would describe my understanding about LET in the whole different way next time. Why? Because it’s just my understanding. I must admit in this blog the question of diginatives.

Why I’m always proud that I’m not diginative? Time before computers in everyday life.

Leave a comment